Thursday, February 7, 2013

Things to know about Gluten

Becoming gluten free can be overwhelming at first. Take a look at some of these tips to help ease your mind and transition into gluten free living.

What is Gluten?
Gluten is a type of protein that can be found in most grains like Wheat, Barley, Rye, Oats and Malt. Gluten is used as a binder in foods like breads, pastas, cereals, baked goods and sauces. About 3 Million people in the United States have Celiac Disease or a form of Gluten Intolerance. For someone with a gluten intolerance or celiac disease consuming gluten can cause damage to their bodies and make it hard for them to properly absorb nutrients. Gluten can cause stomach and digestive issues and cause other harmful complications.

What can I eat? 
There are so many great, delicious foods and recipes, so don't stress! At first, it may seem that everything contains gluten but that's when you should try and get creative. Many foods are naturally gluten free like meats, fruits and vegetables. Here's a simple guide to get you started.

-Plain meats like chicken, turkey, beef, pork, fish and shellfish.

-Breads and Pastas
- Flours (Wheat Flour, White Flour, Semolina, Spelt, Matzo Meal, Bulgar, Farina, Durum)
-Soy Sauce and other asian sauces like Hoison, Fish Sauce, Peanut Sauce. 
-Baked Goods and Pastries 
-Processed Meats
-Imitation Seafood
-Chips and Candies
-Cous Cous 
-Gravy, Broths, Dressings and Marinades

As usual, things are always changing. A product that was once not gluten free can become gluten free and vice versa. Always ALWAYS check your labels. Talk to your waiters and chefs in restaurants and always inform them of your allergies. 

Check out some of these links to get more info

No comments:

Post a Comment